The “Big Four” Dominate at the Grand Slams

The Australian Open has its dream final. After the early exits of top seeds Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic, both Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal seized the moment to make a run for the title. Not having played an official tour event since Wimbledon in July, Federer is perhaps the more surprising finalist of the two, but it was Nadal who had to pass the biggest test today, when he beat Grigor Dimitrov in a five-hour epic. Having faced each other in Grand Slam finals a record eight times in the past (Nadal leads 6-2), the tennis world is looking forward to witnessing another hopefully gripping final between the two friendly rivals.

Over the past decade, the Grand Slam tournaments have been utterly dominated by four players: Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray won 44 of the past 50 Grand Slam titles in the men’s singles competition, with only three other players having been able to break their dominance and lift one of the four most important trophies in Tennis since (the long-retired) Marat Safin won in Melbourne in 2005.

This chart ranks active male Tennis players by the number of singles Grand Slam titles they have won so far.

Infographic: The
You will find more statistics at Statista